# Bible Apps for Kids With No Ads: Checked App by App, With What Each One Charges

> Which Bible apps for kids really have no ads? We checked nine apps on the App Store and their own sites: what's free, what's paid, and what a child can buy.

**Ages:** Ages 5+  
**Published:** 2026-09-16  
**Updated:** 2026-09-16  
**Canonical:** https://faithfulkids.app/blog/bible-apps-for-kids-no-ads

---

Checked on September 16, 2026, against each app's App Store listing and its own website: **Bible App for Kids (YouVersion), Superbook Kids Bible App, Guardians of Ancora, and SunScool are free with no in-app purchases listed.** Faithful Kids has no ads and nothing a child can buy — the subscription sits behind a parental gate and is purchased by the parent. Minno, Yippee TV, TruPlay, and BibleBuddy Kids are ad-free subscriptions. Nothing on this list shows ads to children.

"No ads" is the thing to check first, because it is where free kids' apps usually make their money, and because it is not the same as "no purchases." Below is what each app says in its own words, what it costs, and what, if anything, a child could buy. We make Faithful Kids, so read our row with that in mind; we have kept it to the same facts as everyone else's.

## The short version

| App | Cost | Ads | What a child could buy | Ages (the app's own words) | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bible App for Kids (YouVersion) | Free | None | Nothing — no in-app purchases listed | 4–8 | iOS, Android, Kindle |
| Superbook Kids Bible App | Free | Not stated by the app | Nothing with money — character clothes are bought with points earned in-game | 5–12 | iOS, Android, web |
| Guardians of Ancora | Free | "no advertisements or in-app purchases" | Nothing | about 8–11 | iOS, Android, Fire |
| SunScool | Free | "Zero ads. No subscriptions." | Nothing | 3+ | iOS, Android, Mac, Windows, Amazon |
| Faithful Kids | $12.99/mo or $97/yr (web); $8.99/mo or $79.99/yr (iOS) | "No ads" | Nothing — the subscription is behind a parental gate | 5–15 | Web, iOS |
| BibleBuddy Kids | $4.99/mo, $39.99/yr, or $99 lifetime | "No ads. No third-party tracking. No in-app chat." | The subscription | 6–8 | iOS |
| Minno | $10.99/mo or $69.99/yr | "100% Ad-Free" | The subscription | 2–10 | iOS, Android, TVs, web |
| Yippee TV | $7.99/mo or $48.99/yr | "no ads, no algorithms, and no attitudes" | The subscription | not stated | iOS, Apple TV |
| TruPlay | $12.99/mo or $69.99/yr | "no ads, no chatrooms" | The subscription | 4+ | iOS |

Prices are US App Store prices on the date above. They change; the App Store listing is always the current source.

## The four free ones

**Bible App for Kids** is YouVersion's free app: 41 animated, touch-interactive stories, no ads, no purchases, in 69+ languages. It says "for children ages 4–8," and that is honest — it is the best free starting point for a preschooler and the one most families outgrow by second grade. There is no parent view and no quiz after a story.

**Superbook Kids Bible App** from CBN is free, with 68 full-length episodes of the animated series plus games and a kids' Bible. Its App Store listing shows no in-app purchases; the in-game shop takes "Superpoints" earned by playing, not money. Parents register and create child profiles, and can hide content and switch sharing off. Superbook does not state "no ads" on its site or listing, so we have not claimed it for them.

**Guardians of Ancora** is Scripture Union's 3D adventure game, "absolutely free to download and to play. There are no advertisements or in-app purchases." Planned for ages 8 to 11, it tells about 30 Bible stories inside a game world. It is a game first; if your child wants to *play* the Bible rather than watch it, this is the pick.

**SunScool** says "Zero ads. No subscriptions" and lists 600+ lessons with puzzles, songs, and cartoons, for ages 3 and up, on more platforms than anyone else here including Windows and Amazon. It is lesson-and-activity based rather than video.

If you want free and nothing else, those four are the answer, and you can stop reading here.

## The paid ones, and what you get for paying

Every paid app on this list is ad-free; that is the baseline you are paying for. What differs is what sits on top of it.

**Faithful Kids** (ours) is a video app for ages 5 to 15: more than 300 short narrated lessons in Bible order from Genesis to Revelation, each followed by a three-question quiz and a reflection question, with a PIN-protected parent dashboard that shows what each child watched and how they scored, and up to five kid profiles. There are no ads. There is nothing a child can buy: the subscription is purchased by the parent, and in the iOS app it sits behind a birth-year gate. Web plans are $12.99 a month or $97 a year with a 7-day free trial on the annual plan; in the iOS app the subscription is $8.99 a month or $79.99 a year with a 3-day trial. It is free for churches.

**BibleBuddy Kids** is the closest thing to us for younger children: "3-question quizzes after every story," a "parent dashboard with weekly progress," and "No ads. No third-party tracking. No in-app chat." It is made for ages 6 to 8, covers 82 stories from Genesis to Revelation, runs on iOS only, and costs $4.99 a month, $39.99 a year, or $99 for life, with a 14-day trial. If your child is six and you want a story a day with a quiz, it is cheaper than we are and does that well. If you want one app that lasts until they are fifteen, it is not built for that.

**Minno** is "100% Ad-Free" streaming for ages 2 to 10: shows and audio, not lessons, on more screens than any other app here (Apple TV, Roku, Fire TV, Samsung and LG TVs, web, iOS, Android). $10.99 a month or $69.99 a year with a 7-day trial. If you want a Christian catalog that replaces the family TV app, Minno is the one; if you want to know what your child learned, there is no quiz or dashboard.

**Yippee TV** is streaming "with no ads, no algorithms, and no attitudes" — VeggieTales, Bibleman, Danny Go and similar — for $7.99 a month or $48.99 a year with a 7-day trial, on iPhone, iPad and Apple TV. Shows, not Bible lessons.

**TruPlay** is a games app: "no ads, no chatrooms," Bible-inspired games, comics and animated adventures, up to ten profiles, $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year. For a child who would rather play than watch.

## Two things "no ads" does not tell you

**No ads is not the same as no purchases.** Every subscription app here has an in-app purchase — the subscription. What matters for a child's device is whether a child can trigger one. On Faithful Kids the purchase is behind a parental gate; on the others, check whether the subscription screen is reachable from the child's side of the app and set your device's purchase restrictions either way (on iOS: Settings → Screen Time → Content & Privacy → iTunes & App Store Purchases).

**No ads is not the same as no data.** Only BibleBuddy Kids puts "no third-party tracking" in its listing. For the rest, read the App Store privacy label ("Data Linked to You" / "Data Not Collected") before installing on a child's device. Faithful Kids' native iOS app runs no third-party analytics in the child experience; our [privacy policy](https://faithfulkids.app/privacy) says what we do collect.

## How to check any app yourself in one minute

1. Open its App Store or Google Play page and look for **In-App Purchases** under the price. If the section is absent, there are none. If it lists a subscription, the app is a subscription.
2. Read the **description** for the word "ads." Apps that have none usually say so, because it sells.
3. Scroll to the **privacy label** (App Store) or **Data safety** (Play).
4. On the app's own website, look for the same claim in its own words. If the site and the listing disagree, believe the listing; it is the one the platform reviews.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Is the Bible App for Kids really free with no ads?

Yes. YouVersion's Bible App for Kids is free, its App Store listing shows no in-app purchases, and it has no ads. It is aimed at ages 4 to 8 with 41 stories.

### Does Faithful Kids have in-app purchases?

The iOS app's subscription is bought through Apple, so the App Store listing correctly shows in-app purchases. What matters is that nothing a child can reach triggers one: the subscription sits behind a birth-year parental gate and is purchased by the parent. There are no ads anywhere in the app.

### Which Bible apps for kids are free and have nothing to buy at all?

Bible App for Kids, Guardians of Ancora, and SunScool state it outright. Superbook's App Store listing shows no in-app purchases, and its in-game shop uses points earned by playing rather than money.

### Are there ads on YouTube Kids Bible videos?

Yes, unless you pay for YouTube Premium, and even then the recommendations are algorithmic. That is the main reason families move to a dedicated app; our guide to [Christian alternatives to YouTube for kids](https://faithfulkids.app/blog/christian-alternatives-to-youtube-for-kids) compares the options.

### Is a paid Bible app worth it when YouVersion's is free?

For a four-to-seven-year-old, often not: Bible App for Kids is free, ad-free, and good. Paying starts to make sense when a child has outgrown it, when you want the whole Bible in order rather than a set of stories, or when you want to see what they learned. Our [comparison of the best Bible apps for kids](https://faithfulkids.app/blog/best-bible-app-for-kids) goes through that decision app by app.

### Why doesn't this list include YouTube channels or streaming services like Pure Flix?

This page is about apps a child uses directly. Streaming services and channels are covered in [Christian alternatives to YouTube for kids](https://faithfulkids.app/blog/christian-alternatives-to-youtube-for-kids).

---

*We make Faithful Kids. Every claim on this page about another app comes from that app's own App Store listing or website on the date shown, and we have quoted their words rather than ours wherever they make a claim. If something here is out of date, email christian@faithfulkids.app and we will fix it.*

---

*Faithful Kids (https://faithfulkids.app) — Bible video lessons for kids ages 5-15. This is the Markdown edition of the page above; the HTML page is canonical.*
